26 PDP Senators declare support for new faction

More than a score of serving Senators on the platform of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, on Monday expressed delight over the latest development in the party.
Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, seven governors and some chieftains of the party had stormed out of Eagles Square, venue of Saturday’s Special National convention of the party.
The breakaway members during a press conference held at the Yar’adua Centre, announced the formation of a parallel executive of the party with Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje as national chairman, Dr. Sam Sam Jaja as Deputy National Chairman and Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola as National Secretary.
However, some serving Senators in a statement have thrown their weights behind the Baraje led faction of the party. They declared thus; “By this decision that no doubt provides a soothing balm that will calm frail nerves in the party, you have written your names in gold and will be remembered in our political history as men that stood to save the party and Nigeria’s democracy.
“We heartily rejoice with our patriots and eminent Nigerians led by former Vice President Atiku Abubakar GCON, and the Governors of Kano State, Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Aliyu Wammako, (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Sule Lamido (Jigawa), Muazu Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Abdul Fattah Ahmed (Kwara), and Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers), for the bold, swift and courageous step to reposition the People’s Democratic Party under a new leadership.
“We congratulate the new chairman, Alhaji Abdulahi Kawu Baraje, the Deputy Chairman, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, National secretary, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinola and other members of the National Executive Committee for their emergence as leaders of our great party.
“We therefore, pledge our unfettered loyalty to the Barage-led PDP National Executive.”
The senators are the Senate Chief Whip, Senator, Bello Hayatu Gwarzo, Kano North; Sen Mohammed Ali Ndume, Borno South; Sen. Ahmad Zannah, Borno Central; Sen Abdulahi Adamu, Nasarawa West; Sen Abdulahi Danladi Sankara, Jigawa North-West; Sen. Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North East; Sen Abdulmumini Mohammed Hassan,Jigawa South-West; Sen Umaru Dahiru, Sokoto South; Sen Ahmed Mohammed Maccido, Sokoto North; Sen Muhammad Shaaba Lafiaji, Kwara North; Sen Simeon Sule Ajibola, Kwara South; Sen Abubakar Bukola Saraki, Kwara Central; Sen Magnus Ngei Abe, Rivers South-East; Sen Wilson Asinobi Ake, Rivers West; Sen Danjuma Mohammed Goje, Gombe Central; Sen Saidu Ahmed Alkali, Gombe North; Sen Ahmed Hassan Barata, Adamawa South; Sen Bindowo Umar Mohammed Bindiwo Jibrilla, Adamawa North; Sen Aisha Jummai Alhassan, Taraba North; Sen. Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir, Sokoto East; Sen. Bashir Garba Mohammad, Kano Central; Sen. Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North-East and Sen. Isa Galaudu, Kebbi North.
Sources say Senators Dahiru Kuta, Niger East and Zainab Kure, Niger South may have thrown their weights behind the Baraje-led PDP as well.
Their state governor, Aliyu Babangida is a member of the new faction.


Popular posts from this blog

Bobrisky Attacks Taztee on IG

Python killed in Federal University, Otuoke(FUO), Bayelsa State.